Technical Advisory Board


Dr. Calderbank is the Dean of Natural Sciences at Duke University. Dr. Calderbank was previously director of the Information Initiative and Professor of Electrical Engineering, Computer Science and Mathematics at Duke. Before joining Duke, Dr. Calderbank was Professor of Electrical Engineering and Mathematics at Princeton University where he also directed the Program in Applied and Computational Mathematics. Before joining Princeton University, Dr. Calderbank was vice president for research at AT&T. Dr. Calderbank is an IEEE Fellow and an AT&T Fellow and received the 2013 IEEE Hamming Medal for contributions to coding theory and communications and the 2015 Shannon Award.

GERRY FLYNN, Verizon (retired)

Since joining Verizon in 2000, Mr. Flynn led technical standards work and partnership projects as part of Verizon’s corporate technology team. During his 40 plus years of Industry experience, Mr. Flynn was involved in many wireline and wireless voice and data advances including: New York City launch of analog cellular, CDMA, LTE and the commercial launch of Verizon’s 5G networks.  Mr. Flynn chaired the Industry development of the TIA IS-95 CDMA standards and was Vice Chair of 3GPP2 and was a leading member of the GSMA Technology Committee for over ten years. Prior to Verizon, Mr. Flynn was the Executive Director in Bell Atlantic Mobile’s New England region until 1997. Mr. Flynn has received several patents for his work in wireless communications. Mr. Flynn holds Bachelor and master’s degrees from Fordham University.


Dr. Goldsmith is the Dean of Engineering at Princeton University. Dr. Goldsmith was previously the Stephen Harris professor at the School of Engineering and a professor of Electrical Engineering at Stanford University. Dr. Goldsmith founded and served as CTO of Quantenna Communications, which developed the first 4×4 802.11n chipsets. Dr. Goldsmith is a Fellow of the IEEE and has received several awards. Dr. Goldberg authored “Wireless Communications” and co-authored “MIMO Wireless Communications” and “Principles of Cognitive Radio,” both published by Cambridge University Press. Dr. Goldsmith is an inventor and holds 29 patents.


Dr. Heath Jr. is a Distinguished Professor at North Carolina State University. Dr. Heath Jr. previously was Chair in Engineering with The University of Texas at Austin. Dr. Heath received his B.S. and M.S. degrees from the University of Virginia, Charlottesville, VA and a Ph.D. from Stanford University. Dr. Heath is a Cullen Trust for Higher Education Endowed Professor and is a Member of the Wireless Networking and Communications Group. Dr. Heath is also President and CEO of MIMO Wireless Inc and Chief Innovation Officer at Kuma Signals LLC. Dr. Heath is the co-author of the book “Millimeter Wave Wireless Communications” published by Prentice Hall in 2014 and “Digital Wireless Communication: Physical Layer Exploration Lab Using the NI USRP,” published by the National Technology and Science Press in 2012.


Dr. Katti is an Associate Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science at Stanford University. Dr. Katti is also the co-chair of the O-RAN Alliance Technical Steering Committee and a VP (Advisor) for Technology & Strategy at VMware. Dr. Katti was formerly the CEO and co-founder of Uhana, a company which developed network AI platform to monitor and optimize mobile networks and applications. Uhana was acquired by VMware in July 2019. Prior to Uhana, Dr. Katti was the CEO and co-founder of Kumu Wireless. Dr. Katti has won numerous awards, including the 2008 ACM Doctoral Dissertation Award, the George Sprowls Award for Best Doctoral Dissertation in EECS at MIT, the IEEE William Bennett Prize, the Best Student Paper Award at ACM SIGCOMM 2012, USENIX ATC 2013, the Sloan Fellowship, the NSF Career Award as well as Okawa, Hooover, Packard and Terman Faculty Fellowships. Dr. Katti received his PhD in EECS from MIT.


Dr. Laroia is the Co-founder and CTO of the Light Company, a company dedicated to multi view computational imaging. Prior to Light Co. Dr Laroia was SVP of Technology at Qualcomm Inc. (a company acquired by Qualcomm in 2005 for $805 million). Dr. Laroia founded Flarion Technologies in 2000, the first company to develop OFDMA based all-IP mobile broadband technology (which is now the basis of LTE/4G). Dr. Laroia’s development of Flash-OFDM was integral to transitioning cellular voice access systems to the wireless data access systems that have mobilized our access to the Internet via smartphones, tablets, and wireless modems. Flash-OFDM, plus many other concepts developed by Dr. Laroia and his teams, helped form the basis for the LTE and 4G systems that are powering today’s mobile broadband communications. His work on Flash-OFDM earned him the distinguished IEEE Alexander Graham Bell award in 2020. Before Flarion, Dr. Laroia was at Lucent Technologies Bell Laboratories at the prestigious Mathematical Sciences Research Center. Dr. Laroia is an IEEE Fellow and also the recipient of the 2018 Eduard Rhein Technology award. Dr. Laroia received his PhD in Electrical Engineering from University of Maryland.


Dr. Molisch is the Solomon-Golomb-Andrew-and-Erna-Viterbi Chair professor at the University of Southern California. Before joining USC, Dr. Molisch was at AT&T (Bell) Labs, Lund University (Sweden), and Mitsubishi Electric Research Labs, where he was Chief Wireless Standards Architect. Dr. Molisch is the inventor of more than 80 patents; many of his inventions have been adopted into IEEE and 3GPP standards. Dr. Molisch is a Fellow of the National Academy of Inventors, Fellow of IEEE, AAAS, and IET, and Member of the Austrian Academy of Sciences. Dr. Molisch has received numerous awards, including the IEEE Eric Sumner Award.


Dr. Paulraj is Professor Emeritus (research) of engineering and a Marconi Society Fellow in the department of Electrical Engineering at Stanford University. He proposed the MIMO (Multiple Input Multiple Output) concept which is the key to 4G cellular and Wi-Fi wireless networks in 1992. Dr. Paulraj is a co-inventor of 66 U.S. patents and the author of over 350 research papers and two textbooks. Dr. Paulraj is an ISI Thompson Highly Cited Researcher. Dr. Paulraj has won over a dozen awards in the US, notably the 2011 IEEE Alexander Graham Bell Medal and the 2014 Marconi Prize and Fellowship. Dr. Paulraj is a fellow of eight national engineering/science academies and is a Fellow of IEEE and AAAS. In 1999, Paulraj founded and served as CTO of Iospan Wireless, which developed and established MIMO-OFDMA wireless as the core 4G technology.


Dr. Shamai is a distinguished professor at the Department of Electrical engineering at The Technion Israel Institute of Technology where he also received his B.Sc and M.Sc and PhD degrees in electrical engineering. Dr. Shamai is an information theorist and winner of the 2011 Shannon Award. Dr. Shamai is an IEEE Fellow and a member of the International Union of Radio Science (URSI).